Food Photography…While I Cooked Shrimp..

Good evening everyone… I hope you all have had a great weekend. First I want to say that YAY both my teams Won today.. So congrats to the New York Yankees and the New York Giants…

Today I was in the mood for shrimp. I went ahead and boiled some and decided to eat them like that in a sauce that was taught to me by my brother in law. That includes: Hot sauce, a tsp. of Mayonnaise and the juice of half a lemon. Once the shrimp is boiled you remove them and place them in the sauce. Then Enjoy.. Some people don’t really like the taste of it but it taste great to me :)… After that was done, my son then tells me that he wants more shrimp but this time he wants them the “Original” way. Which i then knew that he meant sauteed in butter and garlic.

Here I am defrosting the shrimp and getting the ingredients ready. For this you will need 3 tbsp. of butter, fresh chopped garlic, some parsley and a dash of basil. While the shrimp was defrosting in hot water, I started to melt the butter and add the rest of the ingredients. Once the butter was melted and the shrimp was defrosted I placed the shrimp in the pan. I mixed the shrimp around and added a little water to the pan. I let the shrimp cook about 5 minutes before i flipped them over and then let them cook another 5-7 minutes.. I plated the shrimp and sprinkled some parsley and basil on it and that was it. During this entire process I kept looking at the shrimp and decided that I would try and take some pictures of it while it cooked and once I plated them. I was so happy with the end results of my photos and the taste of the shrimp. 🙂

Taking photos of food has to be one of the hardest things I have ever had to photograph… Seriously! When taking pictures of people you can tell them how to pose and which way to face etc… With food, I was trying to figure out what worked for me. I wanted something that would make the viewer go “MMMMMMM that looks good”… Although this was my first time photographing food, I promise it won’t be my last.. I hope you all enjoy the pictures….

-Joanna ❤

Leave a comment